MATLAB Creator Cleve Moler to Receive 2012 IEEE Computer Society Pioneer Award

Moler, a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, was recognized for improving the quality of mathematical software and making it more accessible

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., April 11, 2012 /PRNewswire-iReach/ -- MATLAB 2012 creator Cleve Moler has the distinction of being named the IEEE Computer Society's 2012 Computer Pioneer Award recipient.


Moler, a co-founder, chairman, and chief mathematician of MathWorks, received the honor "for improving the quality of mathematical software, making it more accessible, and creating MATLAB."  MATLAB is a high-level programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numerical computation. Using MATLAB, engineers and scientists can solve technical computing problems faster than with traditional programming languages, such as C, C++, and Fortran. 

Moler is also the recipient of the 2011 Sidney Fernbach Award for fundamental contributions to linear algebra, mathematical software, and enabling tools for computational science. 

In his academic career, Moler served as a professor of mathematics and computer science at the University of Michigan, Stanford University, and the University of New Mexico, where he also held the position of chair of the Computer Science department. During his tenure at the University of New Mexico, he developed several packages of mathematical software for computational science and engineering.  These packages eventually formed the basis for MATLAB, a high-level technical computing environment.

In 1984, Moler and Jack Little founded MathWorks to commercialize and continue development of MATLAB. Before joining MathWorks full-time in 1989, he spent five years with two computer hardware manufacturers, the Intel Hypercube organization and Ardent Computer.  Moler currently serves as chief mathematician at MathWorks.

Moler is the one of the authors of the LINPACK and EISPACK scientific subroutine libraries, as well as author or co-author of five text books on numerical analysis and computational science.  He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a past president of SIAM, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Moler currently works remotely from his home office in Santa Fe, New Mexico, writing books, articles, and MATLAB programs.

The Computer Pioneer Award was established in 1981 by the Board of Governors of the IEEE Computer Society to recognize and honor the vision of those people whose efforts resulted in the creation and continued vitality of the computer industry. The award is presented to outstanding individuals whose main contribution to the concepts and development of the computer field was made at least 15 years earlier. The recognition is engraved on a bronze medal specially struck for the Society.

About the IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of IEEE's 38 societies, the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computer and information-processing technology. The Society serves the information and career-development needs of today's computing researchers and practitioners with technical journals, magazines, conferences, books, conference publications, certifications, and online courses. For more information, visit

Media Contact: Margo McCall IEEE Computer Society, (714) 816-2182,

News distributed by PR Newswire iReach:

SOURCE IEEE Computer Society

Related Links


Computer Electronics, Publishing & Information Services, Awards, Not For Profit

Need Help