Khoo Kay Peng, Leong Hoy Kum Win Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards

Top Malaysian Entrepreneurs and CEOs Win Region's Most Prestigious Awards for Entrepreneurs

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, Aug. 28, 2013 /PRNewswire-iReach/ -- Low profile tycoon Tan Sri Dato' Khoo Kay Peng and property magnate Tan Sri Dato' Sri Leong Hoy Kum are among the 27 winners of the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards 2013. The awards are presented by Enterprise Asia, a leading non-governmental organisation for entrepreneurship.


The awards are among the broadest and most stringent in the market, and past winners included such luminaries as Malaysia's Tan Sri Teh Hong Piow, Tan Sri Azman Hashim, Tan Sri Yeoh Tiong Lay and Tan Sri Lim Wee Chai, Singapore's Yao Hsiao Tung, Indonesia's Mochtar Riady, Ciputra and Chairul Tanjung, Hong Kong's Dr Lui Chee-Wo and Lawrence Ho, Brunei's Pehin Lau Ah Kok, Thailand's Pichai Chirathivat, and India's Brijmohan Lall Munjal and Adi Gorej.

The awards are now presented annually in 12 countries across Asia, and are the largest and most stringent awards of its kind in this region. Each nominee undergoes extensive quantitative research and score-carding, compulsory site audit, and have to demonstrate a consistent and outstanding adoption of responsible practices and people-centric policies, prior to being shortlisted for judging by a panel of local and international judges. RSM Malaysia is the official auditor of the awards in Malaysia.

Recognising Malaysia's Finest Entrepreneurs

Twenty seven entrepreneurs are named winners this year, including MUI Group's Chairman Tan Sri Khoo Kay Peng (Lifetime Achievement Award), Mah Sing Group Berhad's Managing Director Tan Sri Leong Hoy Kum (Entrepreneur of the Year), UCSI Education Sdn Bhd's Founder and Chairman Dato' Peter Ng Tong Se (Special Achievement Award) and MOL AccessPortal Sdn Bhd's Founder and Group CEO Ganesh Kumar Bangah (Young Entreprenur of the Year).

Tan Sri Dr. Fong Chan Onn, chairman of Enterprise Asia commented, "The awards are an important agenda in our goal to promote sustainable and responsible entrepreneurship across Asia and the Pacific. By recognizing and advocating these successful entrepreneurs, we hope to send a message to the general public that entrepreneurship is an important element to ensuring economic sustainability".

"Malaysia remains at the top of the region in its entrepreneurial ecosystem. There is no lack of enterprising minds in Malaysia, as evidenced by the abundance of businesses both large and small, and the relatively resilient economy that is able to rebound rapidly from each and every challenge thrown its way," said Dr. Fong.

"This bodes well for Malaysia, and Malaysians are fortunate to have a government that believes in the long-term ripple effect of entrepreneurship", he added.

Dato' William Ng, president of Enterprise Asia added, "APEA adopts a regional yardstick, so every nominee is judged at the same level, regardless of whether they are from Singapore or China, Hong Kong or Vietnam. As such, we are very excited to note that year after year, despite such high standards, Malaysians remain one of the largest pool of winners regionally".

Full List of Winners of Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards 2013 Malaysia:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tan Sri Dato' Khoo Kay Peng, MUI Group


Entrepreneur of the Year

Tan Sri Dato' Sri Leong Hoy Kum, Mah Sing Group Berhad


Special Achievement Award

Dato' Peter Ng Tong Se, UCSI Education Sdn Bhd


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Ganesh Kumar Bangah, MOL AccessPortal Sdn Bhd


Outstanding Entrepreneurship Awards

Nur Qamarina Chew, AEON Co (M) Berhad

Datuk Ibrahim Bin Haji Ahmad, Brahim's Holdings Berhad

Tan Sri Dato' Low Boon Eng, Bell Group of Companies

Dato' Freida Pilus, Cempaka Schools (1983) Sdn Bhd

Yeoh Soo Ann, Encorp Berhad

Dato' Adissadikin Ali, Export-Import Bank of Malaysia

Dato Dr. Abdul Razak, Federal Power Sdn Bhd

Dato' Fateh Iskandar bin Tan Sri Dato' Mohamed Mansor, Glomac Berhad

Lukman bin Haji Abu Bakar, Johor Land Berhad

Datuk Shahrazi Sha'ari, M3Nergy Berhad

Dr. Tan Chee Hong, Matrix Flavours & Fragrances Sdn Bhd

Datuk Hasmi Hasnan, Naim Holdings Berhad

Tan Theng Liang, Roti Roti International Sdn Bhd


Most Promising Entrepreneurship Awards

Dr. Chua Hock Hoo, Cheng & Co Holdings Sdn Bhd

Yong Ing Hui, Gimhwak Enterprise Sdn Bhd

Mark Lee, Hot Shoe Show & Co Sdn Bhd

Dato' Oon Weng Boon, Island LandCap Properties Group

Dato' Lawrence Teo Chee Hong, IS Group of Companies

Muhamad Zamly Bin Abdullah, KIST Group Holdings Sdn Bhd

Dato' Natarajen A/L Manohran, Linsun Global Malaysia Sdn Bhd

Dato' Prof. Dr. Engr. Kol. (K) Chin Yew Sin, Metronic Global Berhad

Haji Zaid Bin Haji Abdullah, Progressive Impact Corporation Berhad

Tunku Dato' Ahmad Burhanuddin, Themed Attractions and Resorts Sdn Bhd

About Enterprise Asia

Enterprise Asia, headquartered in Hong Kong, is the leading non-governmental think tank for the development of entrepreneurship across the region and in the promotion of opportunities and fair ground rules for emerging entrepreneurs. Enterprise Asia champions honest, fair, and responsible entrepreneurship across Asia.

The organisation believes the true foundation of any nation's economy lies in its entrepreneurial resources; which if properly nurtured can be the most potent asset for sustainable and predictable economic planning. With entrepreneurial spirit ingrained within a country's culture, numerous social and economic issues, including urban poverty, urban-rural income disparity, racial or cultural-sensitive dynamics, labour exploitation and economic slavery can be diminished and eventually be eradicated.

Enterprise Asia works with governments, NGO's and other organizations to promote competitiveness and entrepreneurial development, in uplifting the economic status of people across Asia and in ensuring a legacy of hope, innovation and courage for our children.

For more information about Enterprise Asia and its numerous programs, visit

About Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards (APEA)

Organised by Enterprise Asia, the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards are a world-class recognition celebrating and honoring business leaders who have shown outstanding performance and tenacity in developing successful businesses within the Asia Pacific region. APEA is now held annually in Brunei, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.

For further information, and the list of previous award winners of the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards, please visit –

Media Contact: Sana Khan, Enterprise Asia, +60378030312,

News distributed by PR Newswire iReach:

SOURCE Enterprise Asia



Awards, Surveys, Polls and Research, Asian American, Foreign Policy & International Affairs, Economic News, Trends, Analysis

Need Help