Eight Hong Kong Entrepreneurs Named Recipients of the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award 2017

SJM's Angela Leong On Kei leads the list of awardees

HONG KONG, Oct. 5, 2017 /PRNewswire-iReach/ -- The Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award 2017 was bestowed on eight leading entrepreneurs in Hong Kong in conjunction with the eight anniversary of the award in the city.

Over 200 attendees were present at the by-invitation only event, comprising of industry leaders, leading entrepreneurs and dignitaries including Dr. Fong Chan Onn, chairman of Enterprise Asia, Eugene Liu, managing partner of RSM Hong Kong, the official assurance partner of the Award and William Ng, president of Enterprise Asia.

The Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Award, better known as APEA, is a regional recognition programme organized by Enterprise Asia, the region's foremost association and think-tank for entrepreneurship. The Award is presented to a handful of entrepreneurs across Asia Pacific each year, with award ceremonies held in fourteen markets every year. Past winners include Lui Che Wo of Hong Kong, Henry Sy and Tony Tan of the Philippines, Yeoh Tiong Lay and Teh Hong Piow of Malaysia, Mochtar Riady and Chairul Tanjung of Indonesia, Adi Godrej and Rahul Bajaj of India, and Kwek Leng Beng and Sam Goi of Singapore. 

The Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards is often compared to the Olympics for the stringent entry criteria and highly competitive judging parameters. The nomination is by-invitation only with each nominee subjected to a rigorous judging process, including financial verification by an appointed audit firm and mandatory physical site audit and interview, culminating in a confidential balloting process by Enterprise Asia's committee. This year, the award received close to 80 nominees from Hong Kong and 8 winners across 8 categories were selected.

"We can say with certainty that the recipients of the APEA are like none others. Not only do they have to prove their entrepreneurial skills and experience in one of the toughest contests in the world, they also subject themselves to a pledge to uphold the highest standards of entrepreneurship, which includes allegiance to the two founding pillars of Enterprise Asia, namely Investment in People and Responsible Entrepreneurship", says William Ng, president of Enterprise Asia.

Leading the list of recipients is Angela Leong On Kei, managing director & chief administrative officer of Sociedade De Jogos De Macau, S.A. (SJM) who was named the Entrepreneur of the Year.

Other recipients are: Alexander Wong of Alexander Wong Architects Limited, Anson Chan of Bonds Group of Companies, Ray Chan of Central Business Information Limited, Dr Wai Mo Suen of ClusterTech Limited, Elaine Shiu Yin Ning of EJJ Holding Limited, Samuel Leung Shi Wai of PAPRIKA Holdings Limited and Joshua K. Lau of YesAsia Holdings

Ng explained, "The APEA is aimed at promoting entrepreneurship globally. Beyond recognizing the efforts of these entrepreneurs, we hope to encourage them to continue taking their businesses to the next level in the current digitalization era, and in the process, providing more job opportunities to the people in the region, and help to drive the economy forward which is in align to Enterprise Asia's purpose of Democratising Entrepreneurship (DE), Institutionalising Sustainability (IS) and Empowering Innovation (EI).

For further information, visit www.enterpriseasia.org/APEA

About Enterprise Asia

Enterprise Asia is a non-governmental organization in pursuit of creating an Asia that is rich in entrepreneurship as an engine towards sustainable and progressive economic and social development within a world of economic equality. Its two pillars of existence are investment in people and responsible entrepreneurship. Enterprise Asia works with governments, NGOs and other organizations to promote competitiveness and entrepreneurial development, in uplifting the economic status of people across Asia and in ensuring a legacy of hope, innovation and courage for the future generation.

About APEA

Launched in 2007 the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards are the region's most prestigious awards for outstanding entrepreneurship, continuous innovation and sustainable leadership. The Awards provide a platform for companies and governments to recognise entrepreneurial excellence, hence spurring greater innovation, fair business practices and growth in entrepreneurship. As a regional award, it groups together leading entrepreneurs as a powerful voice for entrepreneurship and serves as a by-invitation only networking powerhouse. The program has grown to encompass thirteen markets all over Asia.

For further information, visit www.enterpriseasia.org/APEA.

Media Contact: Kaucy Raymond, Enterprise Asia, +60378030312, k.raymond@enterpriseasia.org


News distributed by PR Newswire iReach: https://ireach.prnewswire.com

SOURCE Enterprise Asia



Banking & Financial Services, Awards, Asian American, Economic News, Trends, Analysis

Need Help